Previous: Masks in the Tapestry

Next: The Call of the Beast

The Marvelous Story of Claire d'Amour & Other Stories

by Maurice Magre
adapted by Brian Stableford

Short Stories

Maurice Magre (1877-1941) was one of the most far-ranging and extravagant French writers of fantastic fiction in the first half of the 20th century, and perhaps the finest of them, because of the fertility and versatility of his imagination and the manner and purpose for which he deployed it.

This volume, the first of a series of twelve dedicated to Magre’s works, offers thirteen stories mostly written between 1900 and 1905, that belong to the genre called conte merveilleux, often inadequately translated as “fairy tales,” but more accurately rendered as “tales of enchantment,” or, in this case, disenchantment.

Although these stories might be considered atypical of Magre’s work, variants of the symbolic figure of Claire d’Amour continued to recur in his work. The flower of youth was replaced in the fullness of time by other blooms, but that motif remained perennial in numerous variations.

Marcelle [1901]
Le Premier amour du docteur Faust [Dr. Faust’s First Love, 1902]
Marinette et le vieil ondin [Marinette and the Old Water-Sprite, 1902]
Histoire merveilleuse de Claire d’Amour [The Marvelous Story of Claire d’Amour, 1903]
La Fleur de jeunesse [The Flower of Youth, 1903]
Histoire d’un grenadier qui n’avais pas de chance [The Story of an Unlucky Grenadier, 1903]
Le Marchand de jouets [The Toy Merchant, 1903]
Le Pauvre musician et le petit génie [The Poor Musician and the Little Genie, 1903]
La Poupée [The Doll, 1903]
Histoire de Lili-des-Roses et du prince nègre [The Story of Lili-des-Roses and the Black Prince, 1903]
La Dernière Sirène [The Last Siren, 1905]
Le Berger roi [The Goatherd King, 1905]
Les trois métiers de Jeannet [Jeannet’s Three Professions, 1913]
Introduction, Afterword and Notes by Brian Stableford.

Cover by Mike Hoffman

Published by Black Coat Press in August 2017
ISBN: 978-1-61227-652-6

The Brian Stableford Website