Previous: The Ring of Light

Next: The Demi-Sexes and the Androgynes

Pan's Flute

by J.-H. Rosny Aîné
adapted by Brian Stableford

Short Stories

Pan’s Flute (1897), Etruscan Amour (1898) and Setne’s Women (1903) are three bold and lurid mythological fantasies dealing with erotic obsessions and ancient civilizations.

J-H. Rosny Aîné is the second most important figure in modern French science fiction after Jules Verne. Rosny, who was a member of the distinguished Goncourt literary academy, was also the first writer to straddle the line between mainstream literature and science fiction. Until now, Rosny has best been known to the English-speaking public for his prehistoric thriller, Quest for Fire.

Pan’s Flute is the eighth volume in a set published by Black Coat Press devoted to presenting the classic works of this giant of French science fiction.

La Flûte de Pan [Pan’s Flute] (Borel, 1897)
Amour Étrusque [Etruscan Amour] (Borel, 1898)
Les Femmes de Setnê [Setne’s Women] (Ollendorff, 1903)
Introduction and Notes by Brian Stableford.

Cover by Mike Hoffman

Published by Black Coat Press in June 2018
ISBN: 978-1-61227-755-4

The Brian Stableford Website