Previous: In a Thousand Years

Next: Voyage Beneath the Waves

Claude Mercoeur's Reflection and Other Strange Stories

by Frédéric Boutet
translated by Brian Stableford

Short Stories

This volume is the third of a set of three showcasing the work of Frédéric Boutet, the other two volumes being The Antisocial Man and Other Strange Stories and The Voyage of Julius Pingouin and Other Strange Stories. Viewed as an ensemble, the collections illustrate the range and development of Boutet's early work, and provide a few representative samples of its later evolution. Here are a baker's dozen of supernatural, horror, and fantasy tales from the early twentieth century, edited and translated by the well-known science fiction writer, Brian Stableford, including the novella, "When We Have Passed On," and the highly original short novel, "Claude Mercoeur's Reflection," both of them significant and highly readable works of French fantastic literature.

When We Have Passed On (1908)
The Repentant Thief (1903)
The Nenuphar (1903)
Gordon and the Long-Haired Star (1903)
The Authentic Antiquity (1903)
The Tram-Driver's Tragedy (1903)
The Human Fish and the Social Question (1903)
The Experiment (1921)
Claude Mercoeur's Reflection (1921)
The Man Who Has Been Mad
The Ingrate Island
The American's Murder (1921)
Lenoir and Keller (1916)
Introduction and Notes by Brian Stableford.

Published by The Borgo Press in July 2013
ISBN: 978-1-4794-0121-5

The Brian Stableford Website